Nike News

Your source for the latest NIKE, Inc. stories

Nike Basketball Steps on the Court with a Champions Mentality

Uniforminfographic  rectangle 1600

This year Nike schools proudly represent the majority of both the men's and women's NCAA Tournament brackets. 

Select teams to wear Nike Vapor Uniforms

All Nike schools competing in the tournament will play in high-performance uniforms made from recycled polyester. Select Nike and Jordan schools will be wearing the Nike Vapor uniforms with AeroSwift technology. This includes Arizona, Duke, Florida, Kentucky, Marquette, Michigan, Michigan State, Oregon and North Carolina for the men’s tournament. For the women’s tournament, schools include Baylor and UConn.

The uniforms demonstrate Nike’s commitment to sustainable innovation and creating product engineered for superior athletic performance while reducing environmental impact. For the Nike Vapor uniforms with AeroSwift technology, the shorts and jerseys are made using approximately 20 recycled plastic bottles per uniform.

Since 2010, Nike has diverted more than 3 billion plastic bottles from landfills into high-performance product.

One Team, One Mantra

All teams will bring their own mentality to the tournament.  That’s why each Bench tee includes their unique team mantra on the left sleeve.  Each shirt was designed using each school’s font, adding another level of personalization. 

Every school lives and breathes by its respective code, motto, or Mantra. When Nike schools step on the court all will proudly represent their programs in team-specific Official Nike Bench tees with personalized mantras by school.  

Select Nike Bench tees are available at

Connect to the Tournament through Nike+

Fans can unlock more with Nike+.  Throughout the tournament, utilize the “follow your team" feature in the Nike+ app, and receive personalized access to products, experiences, athlete content and more as men’s and women’s Nike programs advance. 

Download the Nike+ App and follow your team for exclusive Champions Mentality unlocks.

Champions Mentality

Created in partnership with Melbourne-based illustrator Chris Edser, Champions Mentality explores and illustrates Nike Basketball athletes’ greatest NCAA tournament stories in their own words. The trailer for the three-part digital series launches today and features Karl-Anthony Towns, Draymond Green, Breanna Stewart, Gordon Hayward, CJ McCollum, Aaron Gordon, Lindsay Whalen, Ron Baker, Malcom Brogdon, and Doug McDermott.

Read More: Nike Basketball